Hope for the birds in the ‘Doves Nest’

I never went to a rehab center, but it wasn’t because I shouldn’t have. It’s because no one knew there was a need. Not even when I needed it most. I saw the segment on this bible study I’ve been doing for a month, and I want you ladies to know, you’re always on my mind.  You’ve probably heard the reference to the Bible verse many times by now (Matthew 6:25-30), about how God loves everyone, and He provides what ever we need – He even protects and provides for the sparrow, such a tiny creature that seems insignificant and overlooked by people, but never by their Creator.  That was how I felt when I was doing drugs. Insignificant and overlooked by people, and I couldn’t trust God enough to see Him as my Creator back then.

As women, we’re raised to be the nurturing half of a family.  We’re expected to put our feelings last, and that to think of ourselves before anyone else is a sin.  That’s a recipe for disaster, especially when you’re raised in a home where addiction is the quick escape to your miseries.  I was drinking hard liquor by the time I was 14 and smoking dope by that age, and doing it daily by the time I was a junior in high school – and still performing great in all my classes, so no one had a clue.  I’m pretty shocked now, as I look back, being a mother now of three daughters, that even though I was also – at that tender age – dating multiple sexual partners and enjoying every minute of it, that no one thought that might be a silent scream for help as well. I shouldn’t be too shocked, after all, no one knew that I was being raped when I was in preschool by my uncle either. No one cared when I tried to kill myself at age 17, because for some reason the 32 pills I swallowed had no affect on my body.  I simply took about a 2 hour nap, and woke up with a headache I’ll never forget as long as I live. I swear I could hear my grandmother on Mom’s side, talking to me as I woke up, telling me that I was going to be alright and that she was watching over me, telling me she understood how I felt and that she had carried those same burdens when she was my age. She died when I was 11.

I just wanted to tell you all at the Dove’s Nest, that I’m praying for your recovery and your future, and for the past to be just that – a part of you that has passed, and left there. You shall overcome, because God is molding you into a Greater Being, taking the worst and creating cornerstones for a well rounded individual with a heart of gold, who can stand up against any evil knowing you are never without Jesus Christ.

I don’t know if any of you ladies are from the South (capitalized cause, it’s an attitude we have), but this song by Dolly Parton, recorded many years back when George Bush Sr was still President, for 20 years has given me so much hope.

Your friend in Tennessee, Carolyn.

P31 OBS Blog Hop

Posted on August 29, 2013, in God, Healing, Parenthood, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Kelly H (OBS Small Group Leader)

    Carolyn,

    Thank you for your beautiful words of inspiration to these women at Dove’s nest. I am so thankful that God shined his light for you to follow. May he always bless you with that light.

  2. As a mother of an ‘unknown’ addict teenager, who has survived so much into her adulthood, this is both a moving testimony & a reflection of God’s infinite grace. I thank you from the bottom of my mothering heart. Your mom.

  3. Thank you for sharing, Carolyn! So happy that you are now able to look at your past as just that. Beautiful post.
    Lauren, P31 OBS Small Group Leader

Leave a Reply

